A Company, 229th IR HQ Positions During Normandy Campaign

I finally got another company campaign map done.  I decided to go back to A Co, 329 IR and should follow along in order.  A Co, unfortunately doesn’t have much in the way of action reports, but we do get a good picture of their positions and moments. I have serious doubts about days 17 and 18 because the given coordinates puts A Co on the other side of highway 3, as it was called then, which I thought was in the 4 ID area by those dates.  But if the coordinates given were wrong, the author was insistent; using the coordinate for each day twice in the report. So I quite trying to figure out what might have happened and placed the points as given.

A Co, 320 IR HQ positions during the Normandy campaign; Normandy, France; July 1945

A Co, 320 IR HQ positions during the Normandy campaign; Normandy, France; July 1945

2 responses to “A Company, 229th IR HQ Positions During Normandy Campaign

  1. Guy Wallace 2017-03-23 at 05:56

    I want to thank you for doing these maps. They are very helpful. My Dad served in E Co. of 2/330 from 8 July until 8 Aug. So several of your entries have been helpful in placing them on the map. Many thnx.

    GW

    Like

    • blleininger 2017-03-23 at 11:47

      I’m glad you appreciated the work. I actually got started because of my curiosity about just where my dad had been. But having satisfied my curiosity if now find it fascinating to see just where each unit was and that spurs me on. Hopefully I’ll get through all the 83rd ID companies someday.

      Like

Leave a Reply

